Bookreporter Talks to… Jane Harper

Jane Harper joins Carol Fitzgerald from her office in Australia to talk about The Survivors, her latest thriller. Setting has a strong influence on Jane’s thriller work, and she talked about exploring Tasmania as part of her research process. Humorously, the setting had Carol looking at maps and confessing that she had no idea where Tasmania was in reference to Australia and New Zealand. They also talked about how Jane develops her plot and characters. And yes, Carol asked about the survivor statues that figure in the book. While this is Jane’s fourth novel, it’s the first that Carol has read; she jokes that she has some catching up to do. Right after they talked, the news was revealed that The Survivors hit #2 on the New York Times bestseller list! Also, for fans of The Dry, Carol asked Jane about the movie adaptation, which was recently released in Australia.

Books Talked About in This Episode:
The Survivors by Jane Harper

The Dry by Jane Harper

Check out our other videos:
Bookaccino Book Club with William Kent Krueger: https://youtu.be/dX-mHWLmv5k

Bookaccino Book Club with Jeanine Cummins: https://youtu.be/yY-yhIXjMYM

Best Books of 2020: https://youtu.be/Q_N6r_l1-Ss

Book Group Speed Dating Fall 2020: https://youtu.be/YLTXT9daUY4

More Bookreporter Talks To:
Liese O’Halloran Schwarz: https://youtu.be/JqdPYk2-VGk

Sharon Virts: https://youtu.be/fHB_Wl1F578

Janet Skeslien Charles: https://youtu.be/x0jum1ppDss

Sign up for the weekly Bookreporter.com newsletter here: http://tbrnetwork.com/newsletters/bookreporter-weekly-newsletter-subscribe

FOLLOW US
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bookreporter
Website: https://www.bookreporter.com