Carol Fitzgerald Weighs in on the 20th Anniversary of USA Today’s Bestseller List

What 20 years of best sellers say about what we readby Bob Minzesheimer and Anthony DeBarros Blame or credit the digital age, says Carol Fitzgerald, founder of the Book Report Network of websites. “There is more and more targeted self-help information readily available online. With keystrokes people are pulling together the information that they typically … Read more

Carol Fitzgerald shares thoughts on Tom Clancy’s passing

Appreciation: Tom Clancy mastered the techno-thriller by Bob Minzesheimer “He interjected completely plausible – – but chilling – – scenarios into everyday settings,” says Carol Fitzgerald, president of the Book Report Network, websites about books and authors. “Readers would always end up thinking, ‘What if?’”Read the full story on USAToday.com

Carol Fitzgerald on Scribd’s new subscription service

Scribd Book Service Adds HarperCollins Titlesby Jeffrey A. Trachtenberg “If somebody wants the new Stephen King or John Grisham, and they can’t get it, they’ll go somewhere else,” said Carol Fitzgerald, president of the Book Report Inc., a closely held company that operates a network of websites connecting books and readers. “Also, can’t people do … Read more

Carol Fitzgerald weighs in on the future of Barnes & Noble

What’s future of Barnes & Noble after CEO exit?by Bob Minzesheimer July 10, 2013 –  Carol Fitzgerald, founder of BookReporter.com, says that before Borders collapsed, both chains faced similar issues: “Oversized stores and a shrinking of two categories, music and DVD videos.” But B&N “was in a better cash position to weather the storm, which … Read more

Publishers Weekly Coverage of the Children’s Book Council Forum on Social Networking where Carol Fitzgerald presented

YA Readers in the Age of Social Networking: A CBC Forumby Matia Burnett May 16, 2013 –  A Children’s Book Council forum drew a sizeable crowd to Scholastic’s downtown Manhattan headquarters on Tuesday, May 14, for a discussion called Engaging Relationships: How Kids & Teens Discover, Connect With, and Share Their Passions. One glance at … Read more

Carol Fitzgerald Weighs in on Novels about Women Behind the Famous Men

Novel ideas: The women behind the famous menby Deirdre Donahue 11:46a.m. EST February 13, 2013 – Publishers are releasing a bonanza of new titles in the vein of ‘The Paris Wife’ and ‘Loving Frank.’ Along with a big glass of wine and a few nibbles of cheese, women in book clubs these days crave a … Read more

Carol Fitzgerald comments on author book tours in Forbes

Book Tours: Hell or Helpful? Author’s Snark Ignites Debateby Craig Wilson 11:02a.m. EST January 24, 2013 – As First World Problems go, the awfulness of the author’s book tour is hardly a novel one.  Yet a recent column in Salon by “Go The F*** To Sleep” writer Adam Mansbach on the horror that is the … Read more

Carol Fitzgerald weighs in on Twilight and movies based on YA novels

‘Twilight’ leaves bite marks on Hollywood by Bryan Alexander  9:56pa.m. EST January 15, 2013 – The ‘Twilight’ franchise wraps up its run Friday after already earning $2.5 billion. But the series is still an impact player. Even eternal vampire love must come to an end. The Twilight Saga movie franchise’s days are wrapping up to … Read more